Daily Archives: March 21, 2013

Date idea- Drive in movie theater

Drive In Movie Theater

If you don’t believe how old- fashioned I am, well now you should. Finding a drive in movie theater in Los Angeles is like finding a needle in a haystack. I can probably count on one hand how many drive in movie theaters I know of in the Los Angeles area, but I’ll be reviewing the only one I’ve been to. I’ve actually have been to another one in Chino but I vaguely remember the details of it so I’ll just stick to what I know. Drive in theaters are the epitome of an old- fashioned date where you’re able to have a more intimate setting in the front seat of your car. From my understanding, you began the date in the front seat but slowly drifted to the back seat if you get my drift. This spot is definitely one of LA’s little treasures that not many people know about. I’ve actually only been there a handful of times but it’s definitely something you can do to impress that special person in your life!

This drive in movie theater is snuggled on the second floor of a parking structure in Downtown LA between Broadway & Spring (great location!). The movies that are shown are all older but timeless classics including: Clockwork Orange, Goodfellas, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, All About Eve, and plenty more! You can either drive in with your car, or walk in and sit on blankets or lawn chairs on the astroturf located in front of the screen portion and in front of the cars. You may easily miss the sign into the parking structure so I recommend that you get there a bit earlier just to ensure you enter the correct place. The times I’ve been there, there’s been trivia questions before the movie and the sound comes from a local radio station which I thought was super awesome! You’re able to purchase tickets on their website for $10 or it will be $13 at the door- cash. They do have a Snack Shack which offers BBQ items such as hot dogs, hamburgers, veggie burgers and a wide variety of candy, chips, beverages, and their locally made GIANT Brownie Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies!

Since summer is right around the corner, I’d suggest taking full advantage of this opportunity! Gentleman, I guarantee that this will make your lady swoon and if it doesn’t, she’s not the one for you, or anyone in that matter of fact. Just kidding. Bring your own blankets, snacks or anything else that you believe would make the night even better. Do purchase your tickets in advanced just in case it fills up and arrive a bit earlier to avoid getting lost as it is a bit tricky to find the structure. Right next door is Perch, which is an amazing rooftop lounge which looks over Perishing Square and the rest of Downtown Los Angeles if you’re interested in extending your date. Let me know how it goes!

Facebook: Electric Dusk Drive- In
Website: Electric Dusk Drive- In