Top Cafes in Los Angeles

d7113b7da0b48f6280fc48f06b9d90fd

Now that the weather is warming up, it’s the perfect time to go out with some friends/family for breakfast or brunch and bask in the LA sun. For those of you that enjoy trying contemporary places and don’t mind paying a couple dollars extra for some delicious food, I’d highly recommend going to to the places below. Cafes and food trucks seem to have increased dramatically over the past couple of years and I’m always searching for novel places to eat. I’ve never been a huge fan of chain restaurants for breakfast (IHOP, Dennys, Carrows, etc.) so I’ve explored Los Angeles looking for some of the best cafes that give breakfast a more “at home” experience with large portions, food made from love, and a quaint ambiance. It was hella difficult to choose from all the cafes I’ve been able to eat at, but I was able to narrow it down to my top 5. I attempted to rank it from 1 to 5, but that failed quickly so I just threw them all out there. I was initially going to list my top 10 but “aint nobody got time for that”. If you have any restaurants you’d like me to check out, feel free to let me know!

Crave

  1. Crave Cafe (Studio City)- There’s not many great cafes in the valley, but this cafe might actually be one of the best (if not the best) in the Los Angeles area. In my opinion, the best restaurants in the valley are along Ventura blvd. Although it can get pretty populated during the peak times, it’s open 24 hours which is fitting for either breakfast, brunch, dinner, or even after you’ve had a long night of partying and want some delicious food. The patrons are very sociable and hospitable which is always a deciding factor on whether or not I’ll be returning.

    Literati

  2. Literati Cafe (West LA/Santa Monica)- I typically go here with co- workers during an early lunch before the lunch rush and it never lets me down. On the corner of Wilshire  and Bundy, this place is the perfect place to wind down and potentially fall asleep with all the comfy sitting. They do provide free Wi-Fi here, so if you’re ever looking to play hookie from work/school this woud be a great place to get your work done.. but I guess if you’re playing hookie, you’re not looking to go somewhere and do work. Their seating arrangement here makes it appear to be more of a lounge or coffe house rather than an actual cafe, but it’s well worth it!

  3. AlcoveAlcove (Griffith Park/Los Feliz)- You’re automatically surrounded by gorgeous estates that set the vibe for a breakfast/lunch here. I recently had lunch here with my friend Krista and had a little impromptu photoshoot, but the food here was exactly what I needed that day (and any day for that matter). Unlike most cafes where there’s relatively a small amount of space, this place offers a generous amount of seating AND they have valet if needed. Most of the people I know come here after a hike at Griffith Park or Runyon Canyon to make up all for all the carbs they just lost. It’s a brilliant idea if you ask me.
  4. Malibu CafeMalibu Cafe (Malibu)- My best friend/sister used to work here and although the food doesn’t compare to the other cafes on this list, you’re really paying for the environment, weather, and activities they have there. Think of it this way.. it’s a huge backyard with fire pits, cabanas, ping pong tables, live bands, paddle boarding in the lake, and a bunch of other great things. It’s a perfect place to go with family so that kids can run around or even with friends for bottomless mimosas on Sunday morning. It’s planted in the hills of Malibu so it may be a difficult to locate at first but it’s for sure one of my favorite places in Los Angeles.

    Larchmont

  5. Larchmont Bungalow (Larchmont)- The first time I came here was after a hike and let me tell you, I don’t regret consuming all those carbs because it made my stomach and heart happy. I slept like a baby that afternoon. They have these scrumptious red and blue velvet pancakes that I never finish. Ever. The best part about this place is that it’s located on a street with a bunch of little boutiques and Sprinkles cupcakes is right across the street- which is dangerous if you have a sweet tooth. Their desserts are on steroids and I’m not sure who they think they’re serving to- giants? sasquatches? big foot? The point is that you absolutely need to come here if you have the chance.

Here are some additional suggestions for cafes:
Cici’s Cafe (Tarzana)
Aroma Tea & Coffee (Studio City)

Urth Cafe (Multiple Locations)
Morning Nights (Silverlake)
Griddle Cafe (Hollywood/WeHo)
Cafe Americano (Mid Wilshire)
Blu Jam (WeHo)

4 Comments

  1. Pingback: Top dessert spots in Los Angeles | Spread the love. Support the movement. Let's Vibe.

Leave a comment